The Society of Rheology



Born in Athens, Greece, June 13, 1928



National Academy of Engineering, USA
National Academy of Sciences, USA
American Academy of Arts and Sciences, USA


B.S., Syracuse University, 1950, Chemical Engineering
M.S., University of Minnesota, 1951, Chemical Engineering
Ph.D., University of Minnesota, 1954, Chemical Engineering

Dissertation: A Theoretical Discussion of Steady and Unsteady StateMulticomponent Rectification including a Treatment of mictures with an Indefinite Number of Components.
Research Director: Professor N.R. Amundson

Academic Experience

University of California, Berkeley, Department of Chemical Engineering
Instructor, 1954-1955
Assistant Professor, 1955-1959
Associate Professor, 1959-1962

Stanford University, Department of Chemical Engineering
Professor, 1962-1988
Professor Emeritus, 1988-present

The City College of the City University of New York
Albert Einstein Professor of Science and Engineering, 1988-present

Current Research Interests

The rheology of concentrated suspensions
Effective properties of two-phase materials


Americal Chemical Society (Member)
Americal Institute of Chemical Engineers (Fellow)
Americal Physical Society (Fellow)
Society of Rheology (Member)
U.S. National Academy of Engineering (Member)
Editor of the Physics of Fluids (1982-2000)
Member, U.S. National Committee on Theor. and Applied Mechanics (1980-present), Chairman (1984-1986)
Member of Congress Committee, IUTAM (1984-present)
U.S. National Academy of Sciences (Member)
American Academy of Arts and Sciences (Fellow)
The New York Academy of Sciences (Fellow)

Honors and Awards

Humble Oil Lecturer, 1959
Guggenheim Fellow, 1959
PRF Unrestricted Research Award, Type C, 1962
A.P. Colburn Award, American Institute of Chemical Engineers, 1963
American Chemical Society California Section Award, 1966
ASEE Lectureship Award, 1967
Professional Progress Award, American Institute of Chemical Engineers, 1968
William N. Lacey Lecturer, California Institute of Technology, 1972
Peter C. Reilly Lecturer, University of Notre Dame, 1972
Kelly Lecturer, Purdue University, 1973
Guggenheim Fellow, 1976
Elected to the U.S. National Academy of Engineering, 1977
Leon Lapidus Lecturer, Princeton University, 1980
Elected Fellow, Americal Institute of Chemical Engineers, 1980
Elected Fellow, American Physical Society, 1981
Bicentennial Commemoration Lecturer, Louisiana State University, 1982
Stanley Katz Memorial Lecturer, City College of CUNY, 1983
Sherman Fairchild Distinguished Scholar, California Institute of Technology, 1983-1984
W.K. Lewis Lecturer, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1984
Warren K. Lewis Award, American Institute of Chemical Engineers, 1984
Distinguished Visiting Lecturer, University of Alberta, 1985
G.I. Taylor Medal, Society of Engineering Science, 1988
Fluid Dynamics Prize, American Physical Society, 1991
Elected to the U.S. National Academy of Sciences, 1991
Julian C. Smith Lecturer, Cornell University, 1992
Robert L. Pigford Lecturer, University of Delaware, 1992
Donald Gage Stevens Distinguished Lectureship Awards, Syracuse University, 1992
Berkeley Lecturer, University of California, 1993
Honorary Doctor of Science, Syracuse University, 1993
Elected Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, 1993
Ascher Shapiro Lecturer, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1994
Bingham Medalist, Society of Rheology, 1994
Elected Fellow of the New York Academy of Sciences, 1994
Honorary Doctor of Science, Illinois Institute of Technology, 1995
L.S.G. Kovasznay Distinguished Lecturer, University of Houston, 1997
Honorary Doctor of Science, New Jersey Institute of Technology, 1998


Professor A. Acrivos has authored and co-authored over 180 publications in International refereed Journals

Professional Influence

Many of his students and Associates hold Academic positions in world-known Academic Institutions.

Some examples are:
J. Raymond Bowen
T. Douglas Wilde
Joe D. Goddard
M.J. Shah
Thomas D. Taylor
Andrew S. Grove
Frederick H. Shair
John C. Berg
Russel E. Davis
frank Y-Fang Pan
Danford D. Snowden
Antonio Vidal
Neil A. Frankel
L. Gary Leal
Shen F. Liang
Channing R. Robertson
A. Roger Johnson
Joseph B. Klemp
Dominique Barthes
Charles A. Kossack
Avinoam Nir, Professor
Arlindo de Almeida Rocha
William B. Russel
Ashok S. Sangani
Gary G. Poe
Gary K. Youngren
Hsiao-Sheng Chen
Tak S. Lo
Francis A. Gadala-Maria
John F. Brady
Eric Herbolzheimer
Mark L. Schrader
Robert H. Davis
David T. Leighton
Frank S. Milos
Eric S.G. Shaqfeh
Eric Y. Chang
Ali Borhan
Bir Kapoor
Yongguang Wang

One of his numerous students in Industry is Andrew Grove, the current President of Intel.
His Academic Tree, which includes his students, their students and so on, has over 400 members!